46th Orchestral Season

View Event Calendar
Full List Calendar

A Night of Concerti

Date and Time
3/12/2022 (Sat) 8:00pm
Tsuen Wan Town Hall Auditorium
Ticket Fee
$380, $300, $250, $200
Chew Hee Chiat
Performed by
Zhongruan: Ng Kai Hei
Eco-Erhu: Mao Qinghua
Sheng: Wei Shen-fu
Suona: Kwan Lok Tin
Pipa: Zhang Ying
Five virtuosi of the HKCO will perform in concerto with the Orchestra a hand-picked programme of characterful Chinese music. The diversity of choice is vis-à-vis with the artists’ forte, the instruments they play, and the background to their training as they came from the Central Conservatory of Music, the China Conservatory of Music, the Taiwan University of Arts, and The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts.
Zhongruan Concerto In Remembrance of Yunnan (excerpt) Liu Xing
The third movement: Allegro
Zhongruan: Ng Kai Hei

Ballad for Erhu The Parting of the Newly-weds Zhang Xiaofeng & Zhu Xiaogu
Eco-Erhu: Mao Qinghua

Symphonic Poem The Peacock Kuan Nai-chung

The first movement: Peacock Maidens

The second movement: Dance of the Peacock Maidens

The third movement: The Peacock in the Cage

The fourth movement: The Peacock's Wedding

Sheng: Wei Shen-fu

Suona Concerto Looking Heavenward (The sixth movement of Morning Star Lilies Forever)    Wang Danhong
Suona: Kwan Lok Tin

Pipa Concerto The Heroic Young Sisters of the Grassland Wu Zuqiang & Wang Yanqiao & Liu Dehai  Arr. by Yan Huichang

Pipa: Zhang Ying