47th Orchestral Season

View Event Calendar
Full List Calendar

Preservation and Perpetuation of the Classics 2024 – Concerti

Hong Kong Young Chinese Orchestra

Date and Time
17/2/2024 (Sat) 8:00pm
Hong Kong City Hall Concert Hall
Ticket Fee
$380, $300, $250, $200
Rupert Woo Pak Tuen
Performed by
Performed by: Hong Kong Young Chinese Orchestra
Eco-Erhu: Chan Yu Chun
Eco-Gaohu: Wu Ga Shing
Pipa: Chan Yi Lik, Ng Kit Wing
Zhongruan: Kung Ka Ho
Dizi: Kwok Sheung Yu
Sheng: Sy Long Hei

With 80 members, the Hong Kong Young Chinese Orchestra is one of the few full-scale youth Chinese orchestras in Hong Kong. It provides young people with professional training and performance opportunities in ensemble playing. The Orchestra has been invited to participate in major celebration events and international exchanges and won warm acclaim from the live audiences. 

Continuing with the theme of Preservation and Perpetuation of the Classics, the Orchestra selected outstanding members: Chan Yu Chun (Eco-Erhu), Wu Ga Shing (Eco-Gaohu), Chan Yi Lik (Pipa), Ng Kit Wing (Pipa), Kung Ka Ho (Zhongruan), Kwok Sheung Yu (Dizi) and Sy Long Hei (Sheng) to perform as soloists in concertos written by maestros. It will also continue to commission young composers nominated through the Music from the Heart platform, Luk Wai-chun to create new works "Eager to Fly" that would showcase the energy and innovation befitting of its blend of youthfulness with traditional roots.


The Sun Kuan Nai-chung

Dizi Concerto   The Encounter (The first Movement of The Legend of the White Snake) Cheng Chai-man and Law Wai-lun
Dizi: Kwok Sheung Yu

Gaohu Concerto   In Remembrance Qiao Fei Orch. by Li Fubin

Eco-Gaohu: Wu Ga Shing

Zhongruan Concerto   In Remembrance of Yunnan (Excerpt) Liu Xing
The third movement: Allegro meccanico
Zhongruan: Kung Ka Ho

Sheng Concerto   The Peacock’s Wedding (The fourth movement of The Peacock) Kuan Nai-chung

Sheng: Sy Long Hei

Erhu Concerto   The True Hearted Zhao Jiping

Eco-Erhu: Chan Yu Chun

Concerto for Two Pipas   Miss Loulan Liu Xijin Adapted by Zhang Ying

Pipa: Ng Kit Wing, Chan Yi Lik

Eager to Fly  Luk Wai-chun (Commissioned by the HKCO / World Premiere)

The first movement - Looking up

The second movement - Sighing in the rain

The third movement - Flying against the wind

The concert runs approximately 75 minutes with a 15-minute intermission.