45th Orchestral Season

View Event Calendar
Full List Calendar

Preservation and Perpetuation of the Classics 2022 (Cancelled)

Date and Time
5/3/2022 (Sat) 8:00 pm
Sha Tin Town Hall Auditorium
Ticket Fee
$350, $280, $220, $170
Rupert Woo Pak Tuen
Performed by
Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra, Hong Kong Young Chinese Orchestra

In view of the ongoing outbreak of the novel coronavirus, for the health and safety of our participating artists,audiences and colleagues, the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra announces that its ‘Preservation and Perpetuation of the Classics 2022’ Concert originally scheduled to be held on 5 March 2022 at Sha Tin Town Hall AuditoriumHall has been cancelled. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Ticket(s) holders can choose the following arrangement, complete and return the form to the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra on or before 31 July 2022.

A. Apply for a full refund (of the face value of the ticket, by cheque or cash) ; or

B. Donate to the ‘Music for Love’ Scheme

Download refund/donation form

Thank you once again for your support!

Inquiries: 3185 1600 / inquiries@hkco.org

HKCO Office: 7/F, Sheung Wan Municipal Services Building, 345 Queen's Road Central, Hong Kong (Marketing and Development Department)

Working hours: Monday to Friday 09:00am-13:30pm / 14:30pm-18:00pm (except public holidays)

The Preservation and Perpetuation of the Classics concert of the last season touched so many hearts that the applause almost brought down the house. This year, to put the concept of “guiding the young” to practice, the conductor of this concert Rupert Woo Pak-tuen, who was the first runner-up in the Second International Conducting Competition for Chinese Music in 2014, will be leading the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra and the Hong Kong Young Chinese Orchestra together in a revival of famous tunes – works that were shortlisted for the Golden Chinese Classics of the Century 2003 including Spring by Lo Leung-fai, The Legend of Shadi’er, a symphonic poem by Liu Yuan, and Terra Cotta Warriors Fantasia by Peng Xiuwen. The HKCO has also commissioned a new work from Tam Yat-sing, a young Hong Kong composer whose works have been selected several times from the Music from the Heart activity, an open platform that invites original works from talented composers every year. The audience will be taking a journey that spans traditions and innovation.


Spring Lo Leung-fai

Xongkoro Tam Yat-sing (Commissioned by the HKCO/World Premiere)

The Ancient Capital Chen Ning-chi

Performed by: Hong Kong Young Chinese Orchestra

Symphonic Poem The Legend of Shadi’er Liu Yuan

Animal Suite (Excerpts)  Liu Xing 
2. The Little Panda that Daydreams
4. The Little Lapdog that Dances

Performed by: Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra

Fantasia The Terra Cotta Warriors Peng Xiuwen

Performed by: The joint orchestra of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra and the Hong Kong Young Chinese Orchestra