46th Orchestral Season

View Event Calendar
Full List Calendar

In Memory of Zhu Jian’er
the Most Prolific Composer of Contemporary Chinese Music

Date and Time
20/5/2023 (Sat) 8:00pm
Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall
Ticket Fee
$380, $300, $250, $200
Chen Xieyang
Performed by
Suona: Hu Chenyun
Cello: Tung Hiu Lo
Maestro Zhu Jian’er is an unshakable cornerstone in the history of contemporary Chinese symphonic music. This tribute concert commemorates the Maestro’s centennial birthday, conducted by Chen Xieyang, features suona virtuoso Hu Chenyun and principal Gehu Tung Hiu Lo sharing the stage with the HKCO.

Backstage Tour

Date:20/5/2023 (Sat)


Venue:Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall



Deadline:17/5/2023 (Wed)


Festival Overture (Op. 10) Zhu Jian’er Transcribed by Zha Taiyuan

Lullaby (The third movement of Fishermen's Ballade, Suite No. 1) (Op. 16) Zhu Jian’er Transcribed by Chen Xieyang
Cello: Tung Hiu Lo

Suona Concerto Ecstasy of Nature (Op. 30) Zhu Jian’er Transcribed by Chen Xieyang
Suona: Hu Chenyun

A Sorrowful Tune (The fourth movement of Fishermen's Ballade, Suite No. 2) (Op. 17) Zhu Jian'er

Sketches of the Guizhou Ranges (Op. 23) Zhu Jian’er
The 1st movement: The Lusheng Festival Contest
The 2nd movement: The Old Man Who Plays the Vertical Xiao
The 3rd movement: Serenade on a Moonlight Night

The 4th movement: A Feastday

The concert runs approximately 84 minutes with a 15-minute intermission.