Zhang Ying

Zhang Ying ○

Pipa Principal of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra. Zhang is a lecturer on the Master’s degree programme of The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, and is teaching at The University of Hong Kong, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, the Hong Kong Baptist University, The Chinese University of Hong Kong and The Education University of Hong Kong. She holds a Master’s degree from the China Conservatory and was trained under Prof Zhao Yinan, Ms Li Guixiang, Prof Wu Junsheng, Ms Ren Hong and Prof Yang Jing. 

Zhang was the winner of the Silver Award for Pipa Specialism, Youth Section, at the 1st Chinese Instrumental Music Competition organized by the Ministry of Culture in 2002; and the First Prize in the Youth Section at the 3rd ‘Longyin Cup’ International Ethnic Instrument of China (Pipa) in 2004. She was presented with the Outstanding Instructor and Teacher Award at the 2nd Chinese Instrumental Music Competition of Guangdong in 2015.

In 2020, Zhang went with the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra on a European tour that covered Switzerland, Germany, Belgium, Austria and Hungary, performing pipa solo with the Orchestra in King Chu Doffs His Armour. In Hong Kong, she partnered with pianist Linda Yim in the ‘Piano and Pipa Duo Recital by Linda Yim and Zhang Ying’ as part of the City Hall Virtuosi Series in 2019. She was an Artist-in-Residence of RTHK Radio 4 in 2016, and appeared in pre-recorded exclusive interviews as well as performed live on air. In May the same year, she was invited by the Xinghai Concert Hall of Guangzhou to give a pipa solo recital entitled ‘Music for Tranquility of Mind –  Chinese Solar Term of Corn Forms’. Her other solo recitals included the one held at the Music Salon of the Zhongshan Culture and Art Centre (2015); ‘Pipa Stories – Zhang Ying’s Solo Recital III’ in Hong Kong (2014); ‘Zhang Ying’s Solo Recital II – Plucking at Your Heart’s Strings’ in Hong Kong (2012); and ‘Shining Lute – Zhang Ying in Concert’ at the Zhongshan Hall of Taipei (2011).

Zhang has released a solo album for pipa, Dancing in the Wind and a DVD which records her graduation concert in Beijing. Over the years, Zhang has performed in the U.S.A., the UK, New Zealand, Canada, Russia, South Korea, Norway, Germany, and the Czech Republic, etc.